Fringe Profile #2: Busted Jesus Comix

by

Here’s our second Fringe profile!

Busted Jesus Comix
at Flashpoint – Mead Theatre Lab
916 G Street NW, Washington DC 20001
Friday, 7/18 at 10:30 pm
Sunday 7/20 at 12:00 noon
Wednesday 7/23 at 6:30 pm
Saturday 7/26 at 8:00 pm
Sunday 7/27 at 4:30 pm

What the blurb says: At nineteen, Marco’s been convicted of obscenity . . . for publishing his homemade comic book. Starting fresh in New York, a chance meeting will expose his past and change his life. A comedy about art, sex, the drive to create and the power of friendship. Based on real events. DC Premiere. One actor will partially sign a role in ASL. Show includes profanity.

Hot n’ sexy Questionnaire answered by: Ryan Taylor

1. Tell us about yourself! Where are you from, and where would you LIKE to be from?

I’m the director of “Busted Jesus Comix” and a founding member of The Washington Rogues. I was born and raised in Oregon, and came to live in DC in 2004 by way of a collegiate stop in North Carolina. I began my career here with an internship at Studio Theater.

Where would I like to be from? Probably the Lost Continent of Atlantis. My ability to breath underwater would be such a conversation starter!

2. What is your Fringe show about in ten words or less?

Free speech! A young comic writer is convicted of obscenity.

3. What was the inspiration for choosing or creating this particular show?

“Busted Jesus Comix” was the first play I saw during my very first trip to New York. It expanded my notion of what theater could be. It’s hard edged but compassionate, and incredibly theatrical. It’s very dark subject matter, but on the other hand, it’s written so humanly and with such wit. You can’t help but root for the artist, Marco. The show has been bouncing around in the back of my mind for years now, and I’m very excited to have the opportunity to stage it.

Of course, there’s also the fact that I’m a huge dork and the play works as a ode to the comic book as both escapism and inspiration.

4. Are you politically active, and if so, how?

Always! I’ve got a thousand stories about my days as a political organizer and canvasser. You know those folks outside Starbucks saying “Hello! Do you have a minute for the environment?” Yeah, I did that. A lot. It’s an incredibly hard job.

And we’re in such politically supercharged times! How could one not be engaged in the world right now?

5. Who are writers, artists, or performers who’ve inspired you?

See, here’s where I expose myself a huge dork. My biggest influence? Joss Whedon, Creator of Worlds. But more importantly, he has an incredibly ability to make exceptional circumstance seem absolutely possible by keeping his stories grounded in emotional truth.

Also on the list: Edward Albee, Tony Kushner, Kenneth Branagh.

6. What other Fringe shows are you excited to see this year?

It’s pretty long list. Some that come to mind include “The Warrior”, “Dizzie Miss Lizzie”, “The Sticking Place”, “Marat/Sade” and “Power House”.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

